Thou stream «Inconsolable»

As we pointed out when the «The House Primordial» EP was made available, Batou Rouge based quintet Thou is gearing to the release of their next full-length «Magus» with a series of smaller releases. The second of them is entitled «Inconsolable» and can be streamed below. It marks the first big departure from their traditionally heavy sound, features frequent collaborator Emily McWilliams as a guest vocalist, and is described by the band as “a collection of bleak acoustic and quieter songs.”

«Inconsolable» is set for official vinyl release on July 27 via Community Records (the band’s website lists the release date as June 29). As the label explains, the beautiful record stands as “Thou‘s tribute to Nirvana‘s “acoustic” MTV Unplugged in New York performance – a funeral with amplifiers and an unnaturally impactful experience in the abyss of lawless and unregulated impulses, desires, wishes, passions that Thou’s prolific work has sought to make rock music a realistic portrayal of.” Pre-orders of the LP version of «Inconsolable» are available here, whilst a digital version can be obtained here.

On the same day that «Inconsolable» is released, the last of the three EP series will also see the light through Deathwish. Its title is «Rhea Sylvia» and its first track, «The Only Law» can be heard below.

Finally, on August 31, Sacred Bones is set to release the LP «Magus», whose fourth song can be heard below.

As we await this monstrous dose of impending doom, let us consider the words chosen by the band to explain what is about to come. As they put it, «Magus» is “dedicated to the sacred ego, that wellspring of individuality and unique complexity. Sing the song of the Inner Voice. Recite the hymns to the Celestial Will. Rebuke all desire to succumb to corrosive idolatry—be it the militancy of extremity, the beneficence of untempered ideology, or the divinity of cherished relationships. Rebuke the impulse to capitulation, to hide beneath of hard shell of callous disregard and secede from the world. We surrender our power only to those worthy of wielding it. And we will not hesitate to strip authority from and war against all those that prove unworthy.”

As you hear those songs, we have prepared the following detailed summary of release dates and practical information.

«The House Primordial» was released on May 29 via Raw Sugar Records in 12” EP format and can be ordered here, it was recorded in February at High Tower Recordings by James Whitten, and mastered by Adam Tucker. The same recording information is true for «Inconsolable», whose release date and pre-order link was given above.

No information regarding the recording of «Rhea Sylvia» was made available. Note that the record is set to end with a cover of Crowbar‘s «The Lasting Dose» from their 2001 LP «Sonic Excess in Its Purest Form» and that some of the remaining songs had been previously written and released in acoustic format by the band’s guitarist Matthew Thudium, namely, «Deepest Sun», «Inevitable», and «The Only Law», which comprised a 2015 release entitled «Acoustick Demo», curiously signed as Rhea Sylvia and which you can hear below.

Pre-orders for the «Rhea Sylvia» vinyl are available through Deathwish here (US) and here (Europe).

As for «Magus» itself, it is also set to feature additional vocals by Emily McWilliams, was recorded in 2017 by James Whitten, mastered this year by James Plotkin, and is available for pre-order here through Sacred Bones.

Finally, we should note that after all this dust has settled, Gilead Media is releasing a CD collecting all three EP entitled «Ceremonies of Consolidation» sometime in August or September.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s