Joyful Noise announce Thor Harris as 2019’s artist in residence

Indiana based label Joyful Noise Recordings have announced their artiste in residence for the year of 2019 to be none other than prolific drummer Thor Harris. The residency will unfold through a collaborative process which will see the Texan drummer record music with an expansive list of other artists. The results will be digitally released every six weeks, starting late April and ending in November, after which a 6xLP box set will be released, crafted by Harris and limited to 666 copies. Below, find the residency trailer with all this explained by Thor himself.

While the full list of collaborators that will participate on the six records has not yet been announced, the partial list that was made public is already impressive, boasting the likes of Sharon Van Etten and Yonatan Gat, as well as members of Deerhoof, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Pharmakon, Savages, and Swans.


The music from the Thor Harris residency for Joyful Noise can be pre-ordered in either digital or digital + vinyl formats at this location (we further encourage you to check out the list of Thor Harris facts found there below the trailer).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s